Safeguarding

Safeguarding

Keeping our children safe

 

At Tedburn St Mary Primary School we strongly recognise the need for vigilant awareness of safeguarding issues. All staff have received appropriate training and induction so that they understand their roles and responsibilities and are confident about carrying them out. Staff, pupils, parents and governors feel secure that they can raise any issues or concerns about the safety or welfare of children and know that they will be listened to and taken seriously. This is achieved by maintaining an ethos of safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people. At our school we are not afraid to challenge each other to keep our children safe.

We all have a safeguarding responsibility and have a duty to refer any safeguarding issues to external agencies that need to be involved.

 

Contact Telephone Number for any Safeguarding concerns  01647 61338

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) for our school is Andy Keay andrew.keay@thelink.academy

 

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead for our school is Karensa Dolan karensa.dolan@thelink.academy

 

The Designated Safeguarding Local Governor is: Elaine Clark

elaine.clark@thelink.academy

 

Should the above be unavailable for any reason, please contact one of the other DSL’s within our Trust:-

 Bearnes – Dan Turner Dan.Turner@thelink.academy 01803 812689

Broadhempston – Matthew Medd Matthew.Medd@thelink.academy 01803 782469

Cheriton – Alex Waterman Alex.Waterman@thelink.academy 01647 24817

Diptford – Lizzie Lethbridge Lizzie.Lethbridge@thelink.academy 01548 821352

Drakes – Pete Halford Peter.Halford@thelink.academy 01395 443781

Harbertonford – Anne Burns Anne.Burns@thelink.academy 01803 732352

Hennock – Vic Pooler Vic.Pooler@thelink.academy 01626 833233

Ilsington – Samantha McCarthy-Patmore Samantha.McCarthy-patmore@thelink.academy 01364 661208 Landscove – Jill Ryder Jill.Ryder@thelink.academy 01803 762656

Otterton – Pete Halford Peter.Halford@thelink.academy 01395 568326

Moretonhampstead – William Bentall William.Bentall@thelink.academy 01647 440482

Stoke Gabriel – Alice Eeles Alice.Eeles@thelink.academy 01626 353980

Tedburn – Andy Keay Andrew.Keay@thelink.academy 01647 61338

Widecombe-in-the-Moor – Des Stokes Des.Stokes@thelink.academy 01364 621261

Yeoford – Alex Waterman Alex.Waterman@thelink.academy 01363 84234

 

 

 

Devon County Council Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO) can be reached on 01392 384964

 

 

 Useful Links:-

Operation Encompass

DFE – Child Sexual Exploitation Guidance

Devon Safeguarding Childrens Board

Child Exploitation and Online Protection (CEOP) THINKUKNOW

Anti Bullying Alliance

CEOP Police

National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children

NSPCC Online Safety

 
Operation Encompass
The school has been given the opportunity to take part in a project that will run jointly between schools and Devon and Cornwall Police Operation Encompass is the reporting to schools, prior to the start of the next school day, when a child or young person has exposed to, or involved in, any domestic incident. Operation Encompass will ensure that a member of the school staff, known as a Key Adult, is trained to allow them to liaise with the police and to use the information that has been shared, in confidence, while ensuring that the school is able to make provision for possible difficulties experienced by children, or their families, who have been involved in, or exposed to, a domestic abuse incident. We are keen to offer the best support possible to all our pupils and we believe this will be extremely beneficial for all those involved. In school the Key Adults are Mr Keay and Mrs Dolan